What Do Governors Do?

Welcome to the Governors’ page for Pilgrim Primary Academy. We would like to take this opportunity to tell you a little bit about ourselves, our roles and our aims.

Our Governing Body comprises of 7 Governors, all of whom bring different skills to our School. As an academy and part of Reach South Academy Trust our local governing board consists of four trust appointed Governors, two staff Governors, the Headteacher, one parent Governors and a co-opted Governor.

Governors are volunteers who give their time and commitment to what we hope, is a very rewarding role and experience.  Governors are also subject to an OFSTED inspection at the same time and in the same way as the school would be inspected.

On these pages you can find more information about the roles and responsibilities carried out by Governors. If you would like to contact the Governing body, please do so via the following methods:


Chair of Governors: Dr Andrew Miller 

Co Chair of Governors: Mr Geoff Vaughan



Pilgrim Primary School,
Oxford Street,
Plymouth, Devon,

Email - cog@ppsonline.org

Alternatively contact our clerk Lindsey Johnson Email - clerk@ppsonline.org


To find out more about Reach South Academy Trust governance, click on the following link: www.reachsouth.org/governance